Subscribe for 17¢ / day
Harbor Lights champions

The Harbor Lights girls cross country team poses with its trophy for winning the district title at Tugman State Park this week. 

Photo by Tom Hutton

Harbor Lights of Bandon and North Bend dominated the Far West League middle school district meet on Tuesday at Tugman State Park.

Harbor Lights edged North Bend for the girls title while North Bend won the boys title with Harbor Lights second.

The two teams combined for 12 of the top 16 girls and 11 of the top 15 boys.

Myrtle Point’s Sarah Nicholson won the girls race, covering the 3,000-meter course in 12 minutes and 31 seconds. Allison Storts of Coquille was close behind in 12:34, followed by Holly Hutton of Harbor Lights (12:39), North Bend’s Addie Hanson (12:54) and Siuslaw’s Rylee Colton (12:58).

Harbor Lights had the next three runners, which enabled the team to edge North Bend for the team title with 37 points to 41 for North Bend. Aunika Miller was sixth (13:08), Analise Miller seventh (13:15) and Danielle McLain eighth (13:43) for Harbor Lights.

North Bend had seven of the next eight finishers. Keia Morris was ninth (13:47), Kaley Chapanar 10th (13:53), Brynne Hathorn 11th (13:58), Madeline Groth 12th (13:59), Ella Muenchrath 14th (14:16), Zoe Manuel 15th (14:20) and Kyla Daniels 16th (14:30). Skylar Krohn or Riley Creek of Gold Beach was 13th (14:13).

North Bend had three of the top four boys and all five scoring runners in the top 12 to win the boys team race with 27 points, to 44 for Harbor Lights.

John Efraimson won the individual title for North Bend in 11:16, with teammate Alex Garcia-Silver second (11:18). Siuslaw’s Sam Ulrich was third (11:23), followed by North Bend’s Bryant Wicks (11:32) and a trio of Harbor Lights runners; Trevor Angove (11:34), Patton Clark (11:42) and Carter Brown (11:48).

North Bend’s Ian Nolan was eighth (11:51), Siuslaw’s Chad Hughes ninth (11:56) and Eammon Gustafson of Riley Creek 10th (12:00).

The next five included Chase Barker of Harbor Lights (12:04), North Bend’s Johnny Flanagan (12:05) and John Parks (12:07), Sean Edmond of Siuslaw (12:14) and Daniel Cabrera of Harbor Lights (12:16).