Subscribe for 17¢ / day

ROSEBURG -- The Douglas County Public Works Department, Solid Waste Division released a Request for Proposal (RFP) on June 8, 2018 seeking interested private sector operators to provide transfer station operations in Douglas County.

The county's Solid Waste Division currently operates 11 transfer stations located throughout the county, according to a press release from public information officer Tamara Osborne. County personnel are interested in receiving proposals to provide station services at some or all of the stations. The proposals should include opportunities to transfer waste to approved alternative sites outside the county and potentially increase public access to the facilities.

Sealed proposals for the transfer station operation RFP must be received by Douglas County Solid Waste Department, 1036 SE Douglas Ave, Room 220, Roseburg OR, 97470, on or before July 27, 2018 at 4 p.m. The RFPs are tentatively scheduled to be opened during the Board of Commissioners meeting on Aug. 1.

For more information on submitting a proposal, business individuals must view and obtain solicitation documents from the Douglas County Bid Documents Website at


Information: Contact Scott Adams, Douglas County Public Works Director

Douglas County Courthouse, 1036 SE Douglas Ave Roseburg OR, 97470

(541) 440-4481 office -

The Public Works Department consists of five divisions: Administration, Administrative Services, Engineering, Natural Resources and Operations & Maintenance. Administration provides direction and support to all divisions. The Administrative Services Division is a centralized cost accounting and budgeting division that is responsible for accounts payable/receivable, personnel/time records, special waste permits. The Engineering Division is responsible for design of all road and bridge projects within the County, including contract administration. The Natural Resources Division is responsible for all water projects and water resources management within the county including operation of the Galesville and Berry Creek dams. The Operations and Maintenance Division is responsible for operating and maintaining the County road system and 12 solid waste transfer stations. This includes road maintenance, signing, striping, vegetation control, solid waste operations, recycling and Adopt-A-Highway program.

Douglas County government employs approximately 800 full- and part-time employees in a wide variety of jobs. The Board of Commissioners, consisting of three full-time members, is the county’s governing body. They provide a direct link between the citizens of Douglas County and their county government. The Board of Commissioners is responsible for: approving ordinances (county laws); adopting the county budget; setting standards for the use of county property; appointing non-elected officials to boards, commissions, and committees; and oversees all operations of the county.


Umpqua Post Editor