Try 1 month for 99¢

Reedsport’s Riley Wright was named player of the year after leading the Brave to second place in the Sunset Conference and a spot in the Class 2A playoffs.

Wright, a middle blocker, had a breakout season for Reedsport, which ultimately lost in the round of 16 to top-ranked Kennedy.

Reedsport senior outside hitter Alyssa Neves and junior setter Makenzie Seeley were named to the second team. Sophomore libero Yesenia Velazquez and freshman outside hitter Jenna Corcoran were honorable mention selections.

Coquille’s Kaylee Green was setter of the year and Jami Goin was libero of the year. Suzanne Grami, who coached the Red Devils to fourth place in this weekend’s state tournament was named coach of the year.


Junior tight end Dallas McGill was named to the first team for the Sunset Conference in voting by the league’s coaches.

Senior Nick Glover was named to the second team at quarterback and defensive back. Also on the second team were sophomore Alex Carson at running back, junior Kahnor Pickett on the offensive line, senior Griffin Lavigne at linebacker, and sophomore Eli Carson at kicker.

Coquille’s Caiden Yates was named both offensive and defensive player of the year and Coquille’s David Thomason was coach of the year.

Sunset Conference Volleyball

Most Valuable Player: Riley Wright, Reedsport

Setter of the Year: Kaylee Green, Coquille

Libero of the Year: Jami Goin, Coquille

Coach of the Year: Suzanne Grami, Coquille

First Team — Riley Wright, jr, Reedsport; Kaylee Green, sr, Coquille; Jami Goin, sr, Coquille; Kaycie Otis, jr, Toledo; Grace Sinclair, sr, Coquille; Kennedy Turner, soph, Bandon; Brianna Seuser-Smith, sr, Gold Beach; Abbey Dieu, sr, Coquille; Nay Barnhart, jr, Toledo.

Second Team — Alyssa Neves, sr, Reedsport; Sierra Smith, sr, Myrtle Point; Halle Layton, sr, Coquille; Charity Smith, fr, Waldport; Makenzie Seeley, jr, Reedsport; Britni England, sr, Bandon.

Honorable Mention — Jessica Ostman, sr, Gold Beach; Teira Rodgers, sr, Waldport; Yesenia Velazquez, soph, Reedsport; Nikki Leep, jr, Myrtle Point; Morgan Baird, jr, Coquille; Katlyn Porovich, sr, Gold Beach; Jenna Corcoran, fr, Reedsport; Mahala Fisher, jr, Toledo.

Sunset Conference Football

Offensive MVP: Caiden Yates, Coquille

Defensive MVP: Caiden Yates, Coquille

Coach of the Year

First Team


Quarterback: Jaxson Rozewski, soph, Toledo. Running Back: Caiden Yates, jr, Coquille; Kane Rilatos, sr, Coquille; Cayton Sinay, sr, Bandon. Receiver: Cameron Lonergan, sr, Toledo; Donovan Villanueva, soph, Toledo; Colton Morrill-Keeler, sr, Gold Beach (Pacific). Tight End: Dallas McGill, jr, Reedsport. Center: Zach Kissinger, jr, Coquille. Offensive Line: Ian Whidden, sr, Coquille; Garet Hyatt, jr, Coquille; Jacob Bliss, sr, Coquille; Brynn Green, soph, Bandon.


Defensive Line: Kane Rilatos, sr, Coquille; Zach Kissinger, jr, Coquille; Jacob Rogers, sr, Toledo; Tyler Tullos, soph, Bandon. Linebackers: Caiden Yates, jr, Coquille; Ean Smith, jr, Coquille; Cayton Sinay, sr, Bandon; Colton Morrill-Keeler, sr, Gold Beach. Defensive Backs: Jeremy Kistner, jr, Coquille; Gunner Yates, fr, Coquille; Cameron Lonergan, sr, Toledo; Braydon Freitag, jr, Bandon.


Kicker: Cody Nicholson, jr, Toledo. Punter: Jeremy Kistner, jr, Coquille.

Second Team


Quarterback: Braydon Freitag, soph, Bandon; Nick Glover, sr, Reedsport. Running Back: Wyatt Dyer, soph, Bandon; Landen Timeus, jr, Gold Beach; Alex Carson, soph, Reedsport; Kody Howry, sr, Toledo. Receiver: Brandon Seuser-Smith, sr, Gold Beach; Cooper Lang, fr, Bandon. Tight End: Jacob Smith, sr, Coquille; Pedro Maceil, sr, Gold Beach. Center: Markus Cross, soph, Toledo; Matt Yarbor, sr, Bandon. Offensive Line: Jacob Rogers, sr, Toledo; Nuf Laurino, soph, Gold Beach; Kahnor Pickett, jr, Reedsport; Travis Kroker, sr, Toledo


Defensive Line: Brendan Smith, soph, Bandon; Johnny Helms, fr, Bandon; Jonny Moore, sr, Gold Beach; Shay Wells, jr, Gold Beach; Kody Howry, sr, Toledo. Linebackers: Matt Yarbor, sr, Bandon; Wyatt Dyer, soph, Bandon; Brayden Clayburn, soph, Coquille; Kyle Hayner, jr, Toledo; Griffin Lavigne, sr, Reedsport. Defensive Backs: Donovan Villanueva, soph, Toledo; Reef Berry, fr, Bandon; Nick Glover, sr, Reedsport.


Kicker: Eli Carson, soph, Reedsport.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.