Support local journalism by subscribing today! Click Here to see our current offers.

DOUGLAS COUNTY — Douglas County votes are in and as of last Wednesday morning 32,839 ballots had been received for the 2020 Primary Election.

In the 9th District Republican State Representative race, Reedsport’s Boomer Wright picked up 99% of the 717 votes in Douglas County. In the uncontested race, Wright claimed 99% of the 6,930 votes across Douglas, Coos, Lane and Lincoln counties.

On the Democratic side of the 9th District State Representative race, Cal Mukumoto recorded 63% of the 579 Douglas County votes and led Mark Daily's 35%. Douglas County voters followed the state trend in this race.

In ballot measure 20-306 – a measure to improve facilities and safety at Lane Community College – 57% of voters have voted yes through 100,728 votes. Residents in Benton, Douglas, Lane and Linn counties all voted on this measure.

Fourteen Douglas County voters voted on this measure with seven against and seven in favor.

In other Douglas County measures, 52% of voters voted against the Roseburg School District improvement plan; 55% were in favor of the Glendale School District bond; and 58% against the annexation of Canyonville into the Oregon State University extension service district.

For statewide contested races, 42% of voters voted for Republican Jo Rae Perkins for Senator while 37% voted for Paul Romero Jr.

Democrat Peter DeFazio collected 81% of the US Representative 4th District votes while Doyle Canning received 16%. Republican Alex Skarlatos had 88% of the Douglas County votes for this position while Nelson Ijih had 11%.

In the Secretary of State race, the Democratic side was close for county voting with Shemia Fagan receiving 39.30% of the vote and Mark Hass coming in at 37%. As of Wednesday morning Hass holds a lead of fewer than 4,000 votes statewide over Fagan. On the Republican Side Kim Thatcher led with 82% of the vote and Dave Stauffer had 17%.

In the presidential primary, 96% of Douglas County Republicans voted for Donald Trump while 70% of Democrats voted for Joe Biden.

Reporter Zachary Silva can be reached at 541-266-6036 or by email at


Trending Now

Connect With Us

Email Newsletters

Load comments