Coquille’s football team had two of the four outstanding players in the Mountain Valley Conference in voting by the league’s coaches.

The Red Devils, who face Scio in the Class 3A quarterfinals on Friday, had a number of players earn all-league honors after finishing second behind La Pine in the standings.

Linebacker Henry Scolari was named defensive back of the year and center Heath Hurt was named offensive lineman of the year for Coquille. La Pine’s Ben Plant was the defensive lineman of the year and Harrisburg’s Gabe Knox was the offensive back of the year even though Scolari and Glide’s Cyller Cunningham were unanimous selections to the first team at running back and Knox was not a unanimous pick.

Bo DeForest was coach of the year after guiding La Pine to the title.

Coquille’s Joey Vigue joined Scolari at first team linebacker and Cody Deck was a first-team defensive back. Jack Lehnherr, one of three players on the team from Pacific, was named to the first team on the defensive line while John Morrill-Keeler, another of the three, was second team at tight end.

Heath Hurt was named to the second team on the defensive line and Seth Waddington at linebacker. Caiden Yates was a second-team pick at running back and Ian Whidden on the offensive line.


Coquille was rewarded for its first volleyball title in four years in the league with its first two first-team picks on the all-league team. Seniors McKenna Wilson and Rhiannon McKinley were named to the first team and Suzanne Grami was coach of the year after guiding the Red Devils to an unbeaten league season.

Creswell’s Cassie Cunningham was named player of the year after leading the Bulldogs to second place.

Coquille’s Jami Goin was not named to the first team, but was the top vote-getter among liberos. She was joined on the second team by teammate Grace Sinclair and Abbey Dieu was an honorable mention pick.

The rest of the first team included Creswell’s Bailey Howell, Hunter Jelden of Harrisburg and Glide’s Johanna Pope.

Mountain Valley Conference Football

Offensive Back of the Year: Gabe Knox, Harrisburg. 

Defensive Back of the Year: Henry Scolari, Coquille. 

Offensive Lineman of the Year: Heath Hurt, Coquille. 

Defensive Lineman of the Year: Ben Plant, La Pine. 

Coach of the Year: Bo DeForest, La Pine. 



Quarterback: Angelo Roes, sr, La Pine. Running Back: Henry Scolari, sr, Coquille; Cyller Cunningham, sr, Glide; Gabe Knox, soph, Harrisburg. Wide Receiver: Wyatt DeForest, sr, La Pine; Stephen Parmenter, jr, Pleasant Hill; William Downs, sr, Harrisburg. Tight End: Dillon Towne, jr, Glide. Offensive Line: Heath Hurt, sr, Coquille; Wyatt Prater, sr, Harrisburg; Gage Dodson, jr, La Pine; Giroux Gerhart, sr, La Pine; Rhett Syverson, sr, Glide. 


Defensive Line: Jack Lehnherr, sr, Coquille (Pacific); Ben Plant, sr, La Pine; Dillon Towne, jr, Glide; Wyatt Prater, sr, Harrisburg. Linebacker: Henry Scolari, sr, Coquille; Wyatt DeForest, sr, La Pine; Joey Vigue, sr, Coquille; Wyatt Estrada, jr, Glide; Dax Bennett, jr, Harrisburg; Jacob Pray, jr, Pleasant Hill. Defensive Back: Cody Deck, sr, Coquille; Angelo Roes, sr, La Pine; Garrett Phelps, jr, Pleasant Hill; William Downs, sr, Harrisburg. 


Kicker: Amanda Whittten, sr, Pleasant Hill. Punter: Dillon Towne, jr, Glide. Returner: Chandler George, sr, La Pine. 



Quarterback: Dax Bennett, jr, Harrisburg. Running Back: Ben Plant, sr, La Pine; Zach Holland, jr, Glide; Caiden Yates, soph, Coquille. Wide Receiver: Jack Callahan, sr, Creswell; Dylan Miller, sr, Creswell; Chandler George, sr, La Pine; Wyatt Craig, sr, Pleasant Hill. Tight End: John Morrill-Keeler, sr, Coquille (Pacific). Offensive Line: Ian Whidden, jr, Coquille; Hunter Dodson, sr, La Pine; Collyn Potter, sr, Glide; Brennan Erickson, jr, Harrisburg; Jacob Bushnell, sr, Pleasant Hill. 


Defensive Line: Heath Hurt, sr, Coquille; Gage Dodson, jr, La Pine; Colton Hazel, sr, Pleasant Hill. Linebacker: Colton White, sr, Creswell; Bridger Cox, sr, Glide; Izzy Smith, sr, Harrisburg; Blaine Rodolph, sr, Pleasant Hill. Defensive Back: Seth Waddington, sr, Coquille; Jack Callahan, sr, Creswell; Josiah Jenkins, sr, La Pine; Zach Holland, jr, Glide. 


Punter: Colton White, sr, Creswell. Returner: Zach Holland, jr, Glide. 



Quarterback: Zach Hart, jr, Pleasant Hill. Tight End: Devin Nelson, jr, Harrisburg. Offensive Line: Jeremy Meeuwsen, sr, La Pine. 


Defensive Line: Tyler Atwood, fr, Creswell; Caleb Walker, sr, La Pine; Zack Welker, jr, Glide; Elijah Pate, jr, Harrisburg; Bryce Cox, sr, Pleasant Hill. Linebacker: Jaycob Kremer, soph, Creswell. Defensive Back: Jake Hurt, sr, Coquille; Dylan Miller, sr, Creswell; Dalton Dewey, soph, Creswell. 


Punter: Dax Bennett, jr, Harrisburg; Collin Good, sr, Pleasant Hill. Returner: Collin Good, sr, Pleasant Hill. 

Mountain Valley Conference Volleyball

Player of the Year: Cassie Cunningham, Creswell. 

Coach of the Year: Suzanne Grami, Coquille. 

First Team — Cassie Cunningham, sr, Creswell; McKenna Wilson, sr, Coquille; Rhiannon McKinley, sr, Coquille; Bailey Howell, jr, Creswell; Duran Jelden, jr, Harrisburg; Johanna Pope, jr, Glide. 

Second Team — Karley Bellew, sr, Creswell; Jami Goin, jr, Coquille; Alexis Thomas, sr, Harrisburg; Jordynn Slater, sr, La Pine; Victoria Lewis, jr, Pleasant Hill; Grace Sinclair, jr, Coquille. 

Honorable Mention — Kaylee Cunningham, sr, Creswell; Madison Malek, sr, Glide; Aubrey Born, sr, Glide; Abbey Dieu, jr, Coquille; Josey Hawkins, jr, La Pine; Kaylee Martin, soph, Pleasant Hill; Whitney Stone, sr, Glide.